International Committee

To run PME over the year, prepare and implement decisions made during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and do most of the everyday work, PME has an International Committee (IC) of 16 elected members. Each year, during the AGM meeting at the PME conference, four new nominees are elected for four years by the members present.

Being a part of the IC is a great opportunity to contribute to the PME organization. The work on the IC involves taking part in the IC meetings 1.5 days before, some hours during and 1.5 days after the PME conferences, and to contribute to the work in one of the four IC Portfolio Groups over the year:

  • The Vice President Portfolio Group which is mainly responsible for PME scientific issues
  • The Policy Portfolio Group which mainly deals with PME policy issues
  • The Secretary Portfolio Group which mainly takes care of communication within PME
  • The Treasurer Portfolio Group which is responsible for PME financial affairs

To stand for the IC, you need to fill in the IC Election form to introduce yourself and your goals for your involvement in the IC.

As PME will be applying to become a charitable organization, please refer to the information on PME_becoming_charity in case you are considering to stand for IC.

This form must be signed by yourself and two researchers who support your application. You hand this form to the PME Administrative Manager (Birgit Griese) at least 24 hours before the start of the AGM. You and your supporters should be present at the AGM, one of your supporters will be asked to introduce you shortly before the election starts.

The main restriction for becoming part of the IC is that at most three members from one country are allowed on the IC at any time.

Current IC

Office  Person Country / Region
Elected E-Mail Address
President Markku Hannula Finland 2018 markku.hannula(at)helsinki.fi
Vice-President Einat Heyd-Metzuyanim Israel 2016 einat.metz(at)gmail.com
Secretary Judy Anderson Australia 2018 judy.anderson(at)sydney.edu.au
Treasurer Laurinda Brown
United Kingdom
2017 laurinda.brown(at)bristol.ac.uk
Policy Richard Barwell Canada 2017 richard.barwell(at)uottawa.ca
Yasmine Abtahi Canada 2019 yabtahi(at)uottawa.ca
Arindam Bose India 2019 arindambose.ab(at)gmail.com
Yiming Cao China 2016 caoym(at)bnu.edu.cn
Man Ching Esther Chan Hong Kong SAR 2017 mc.chan(at)unimelb.edu.au
Anika Dreher Germany 2018 anika.dreher(at)ph-freiburg.de
Anthony Essien South Africa 2018 anthony.essien(at)wits.ac.za
Ceneida Fernández Spain 2019 ceneida.fernandez(at)ua.es
Jodie Hunter
New Zealand
2019 j.hunter1(at)massey.ac.nz
Maitree Inprasitha Thailand 2018 inprasitha_crme(at)kku.ac.th
Maria Mellone Italy 2017 maria.mellone(at)unina.it
Miguel Ribeiro Brazil 2016 cmribas78(at)gmail.com
Lovisa Sumpter Sweden 2016 lovisa.sumpter(at)mnd.su.se

 

In the following information is provided on the Portfolio Group members. The Portfolio Group leaders are marked in bold.

Vice-President Portfolio Group: Einat Heyd-Metzuyanim, Ceneida Fernández, Maitree Inprasitha, Maria Mellone

Policy Portfolio Group: Richard Barwell, Arindam Bose, Anika Dreher, Lovisa Sumpter

Secretary Portfolio Group: Judy Anderson, Man Ching Esther Chan, Jodie Hunter, Miguel Ribeiro

Treasurer Portfolio Group: Laurinda Brown, Yasmine Abtahi, Yiming Cao, Anthony Essien

Past IC Members

List of past IC members