International Committee / Board of Trustees

To run PME over the year, prepare and implement decisions made during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and do most of the everyday work, PME has an International Committee (IC) of 16 elected members, recently re-named “Board of Trustees” (BoT) on PME becoming a charity. Each year, during the AGM meeting at the PME conference, four new nominees are elected for four years by the members present.

Being a part of the BoT is a great opportunity to contribute to the PME organization. The work on the BoT usually involves taking part in the BoT meetings 1.5 days before, some hours during and 1.5 days after the PME conferences, and to contribute to the work in one of the four BoT Portfolio Groups over the year:

  • The Vice President Portfolio Group which is mainly responsible for PME scientific issues
  • The Policy Portfolio Group which mainly deals with PME policy issues
  • The Secretary Portfolio Group which mainly takes care of communication within PME
  • The Treasurer Portfolio Group which is responsible for PME financial affairs

To stand for the Board of Trustees or as President-Elect, you need to fill in the Election Form to introduce yourself and your goals for your involvement in the Board of Trustees.

As PME has become a charitable organization, please refer to the information on PME_becoming_charity in case you are considering to stand for the Board of Trustees.

This form must be signed by yourself and two researchers who support your application. Note that you, your nominator, and your seconder must be PME members for the current year.

You hand this form to the PME Administrative Manager (Angateeah Khemduth Singh) at least 24 hours before the start of the AGM. You and your supporters should be present at the AGM, one of your supporters will be asked to introduce you shortly before the election starts.

The main restriction for becoming part of the BoT is that at most three members from one country are allowed on the BoT at any time. This refers to the country of your current affiliation.

Current Board of Trustees

Office  Person Country / Region Elected E-Mail Address
President Wim Van Dooren Belgium 2021 wim.vandooren(at)kuleuven.be
Vice President Michal Ayalon Israel 2021 mayalon(at)edu.haifa.ac.il
Arindam Bose India 2019 arindambose.ab(at)gmail.com
Christina Krause Austria 2021 christina.krause(at)uni-graz.at
Daniel Sommerhoff Germany 2021 sommerhoff(at)leibniz-ipn.de
Secretary Ban Heng Choy Singapore 2021 banheng.choy(at)nie.edu.sg
Jodie Hunter New Zealand 2019 j.hunter1(at)massey.ac.nz
Helena Johansson Sweden 2021 Helena.Johansson(at)miun.se
Wee Tiong Seah Australia 2022 wt.seah(at)unimelb.edu.au
Treasurer

 

Yasmine Abtahi Norway 2019 yabtahi(at)uottawa.ca
Ceneida Fernández Spain 2019 ceneida.fernandez(at)ua.es
Tracy Helliwell United Kingdom 2021 tracy.helliwell(at)bristol.ac.uk
Nicky Roberts   South Africa 2022 nroberts(at)ufh.ac.za
 Policy

 

Chiara Andrà Italy 2021 chiara.andra(at)gmail.com
Nicola Hodkowski United States of America 2022 nhodkowski(at)digitalpromise.org
Kotaro Komatsu Japan 2021 komatsu.kotaro.ft(at)u.tsukuba.ac.jp
Anselm Robert Strohmaier Germany 2022 anselm.strohmaier(at)tum.de

*The Portfolio Group leaders are marked in bold.

Past IC Members

List of past IC members